Proud fans of a 128-year old tradition

It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 2:01 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Who Do You Like To See In Pirates Tenue Next Year?
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 2:55 pm 

I am just curious who you would like to see as a bucco next year

by trade or by free agency??

(and ofcourse it has to be legit option and not fantasy-manny-like)

New Amsterdam was a Dutch settlement est. at the southern tip of Manhattan Island which served as seat of the colonial government in the New Dutch territory. It was renamed New York in honor of the then Duke of York.

Post subject: Re: Who Do You Like To See In Pirates Tenue Next Year?
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 3:47 pm 

jason donald double A short stop with reading phillies.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 3:59 pm 

Q. When was the last time the Pirates had a shortstop who could hit for average, power, and produce runs?
A. Arky Vaughn(1932-41) or Honus Wagner(1903-16)

The Pirates need to get a shortstop who can be a difference maker at the plate and be good enough in the field. They'll need to draft or acquire via draft a talent like this because there's not a chance in the world this team will ever be able to afford a player like this in free agency under this ownership group.

Otherwise, this team isn't doing anything of note in the offseason to make a difference for 2009 unless you considering trading Jack Wilson, Freddy Sanchez, and John Grabow earth shattering.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 4:07 pm 

I'd like a starting pitcher like Scott Baker of the Twins.

Jhonny Peralta hits for power but isn't Jack Wilson with the glove.

Doumit needs a backup, a guy like Kelly Shoppach or Mike Redmond. We could use a crafty veteran reliever like Brian Shouse, but he's already 40 and pitching in our division. It's hard to think players without knowing their contract status.

There's no way we can re-sign Grabow?

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 4:09 pm