Proud fans of a 128-year old tradition

It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 12:06 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Fantasy Baseball
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 10:05 am 

So the Sumpreme Court threw out a lawsuit that MLB claimed they owned all the stats for people who played fantasy baseball. I thought this was over and done with before but its good news for all fantasy sports. I used to be in a fantasy baseball league and we had a guy crank out stats weekly. As a long time Fantasy Football player(18 years...before the internet) this was good news. All the more reason why MLB is out of touch with its entire fan base

Post subject: Re: Fantasy Baseball
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 10:58 am 

MLB is also apparently out of touch with the law. Apparently their lawyers never read Feist v. Rural Telephone, quite possibly the most important Supreme Court decision on copyrightability. I'm a mere law student and even I knew that MLB was dead wrong. MLB wasted its money trying to get the Supreme Court to hear this.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 12:28 pm 

Willton wrote:
MLB is also apparently out of touch with the law. Apparently their lawyers never read Feist v. Rural Telephone, quite possibly the most important Supreme Court decision on copyrightability. I'm a mere law student and even I knew that MLB was dead wrong. MLB wasted its money trying to get the Supreme Court to hear this.

In 2005, MLB licensed certain fantasy baseball companies to use player names and stats, but refused to give a license to companies that had been paying for the right to use the information for years prior to that time. MLB was trying to freeze out fantasy competition, and gain control over the fantasy baseball leagues by controlling the stats.